Bill Taylor

Entrepreneur & Innovator; Co-founder, Fast Company;
Bestselling Author: Simply Brilliant, Practically Radical, and Mavericks at Work

Bill Taylor

Entrepreneur & Innovator; Co-founder, Fast Company;
Bestselling Author: Simply Brilliant, Practically Radical, and Mavericks at Work

“We live in a world where playing it safe may well be the most dangerous course of all.”
taylor_signature
“We live in a world where playing it safe may well be the most dangerous course of all.” 
taylor_signature
Talking Points
  • A creator: Co-founded Fast Company magazine; sold it for $340 million.
  • He’s seen it: Covered leaders/companies disrupting business his whole career.
  • Inspires: Stories of companies doing ordinary things in extraordinary ways.
  • Best ways: Culture, innovation, leading change, new business models at work.
  • Get real: Win big by putting humanity back in business; people long for it.
Bill’s Story

Bill Taylor shows business leaders a path to do the hard work of big change in a world where change is bigger, faster, and more dramatic than ever. As a young entrepreneur, Bill co-founded Fast Company, the bold business magazine that redefined the genre and chronicled the tech-fueled revolution that transformed business and work. Chronicling and learning from free-thinking leaders and game-changing companies is Bill’s passion – and he had a front-row seat to the forces that have redefined the logic of business and personal success.

After selling the magazine, Bill has continued to inspire a generation of executives and company-builders to think differently about leadership, change, culture, and the new world of work. He’s written three bestselling books filled with examples of new ways to innovate and succeed: Simply Brilliant: How Great Organizations Do Ordinary Things in Extraordinary Ways, Practically Radical, and Mavericks at Work. Bill also writes regularly for the Harvard Business Review. In a competitive environment where ordinary is not an option, Bill Taylor is a natural storyteller who inspires people to transform their organizations and challenge themselves, to make sure that what they know doesn’t limit what they can imagine about the future.

Bill’s latest book, Simply Brilliant: How Great Organizations Do Ordinary Things in Extraordinary Ways, offers a set of messages and a collection of case studies about how to unleash breakthrough creativity and cutting-edge performance in even the most competitive, hard-to-change fields. Simply Brilliant was published in September 2016 by Portfolio. The book was named “Best Book of 2016” by Leadership Now. Wharton professor Adam Grant calls it “a fascinating look inside companies that are rewriting rules of success.” Sir Ken Robinson says it “offers transformative messages for leaders in all walks of life.” Simply Brilliant is a sequel of sorts to Bill’s popular book, Practically Radical: Not-So-Crazy Ways to Transform Your Company, Shake Up Your Industry, and Challenge Yourself. Bestselling author Daniel H. Pink called Practically Radical “the most powerful and instructive change manual you’ll ever read.” Anne Mulcahy, former chairman and CEO of Xerox, called it “a handbook for successful transformation and a great tutorial for implementing your change agenda.”

Before Practically Radical, Bill co-authored Mavericks at Work: Why the Most Original Minds in Business Win. Just weeks after its release, Mavericks became a New York Times bestseller, a Wall Street Journal Business bestseller and a BusinessWeek bestseller. The Economist called the book “a pivotal work in the tradition of In Search of Excellence and Good to Great.” The Economist also named Mavericks one of its “Books of the Year” for 2006, as did The Financial Times.

Bill’s three books are just the latest chapter in a career devoted to challenging, conventional wisdom and showcasing the power of business at its best. As co-founder and founding editor of Fast Company, he launched a magazine that won countless awards, earned a passionate following among executives and entrepreneurs around the world—and became a legendary business success.

Fast Company has won just about every award there is to win in the magazine world, from “Startup of the Year” to “Magazine of the Year” to three National Magazine Awards. In recognition of Fast Company‘s impact on business, Bill was named “Champion of Workplace Learning and Performance” by the American Society of Training and Development. Past winners include Jack Welch of GE and Fred Smith of FedEx. In less than six years, a magazine that took shape in borrowed office space in Harvard Square sold for $340 million.

A graduate of Princeton University and the MIT Sloan School of Management, Bill Taylor lives in Wellesley, Massachusetts, with his wife and two daughters.

Video Playlists by Topic

The Hard Work of Big Change


Technology, People, and the Future of Competition



Talent, Culture, and the New World of Work

Briefly Brilliant Series

Simple Brilliant Leadership: The Art of Going From Now to Next

divider_red_blue

Speech Descriptions

The Hard Work of Big Change

In this era of hyper-competition and non-stop disruption, past success does not guarantee future prosperity. It’s a world where the smart take from the strong and the most urgent work for every organization and leader is the work of making meaningful, deep-seated change. When customers have higher expectations than ever, and digital technologies and new business models create more choices than ever, then familiar ways of working and competing become less effective than ever. Read More >

Simply Brilliant Leadership: The Art of Going from Now to Next

As the world is being remade before our eyes, the leaders who make a difference are the ones who can reimagine what’s possible at their organization and in their field, and who can turn bold strategies into relentless execution. And they’re not just CEOs; they’re executives running business units, managers in charge of key departments, engineers or marketers running project teams, entrepreneurs building a company from scratch. Read More >

Talent, Culture, and the New World of Work

Business today is about distinctive competitive strategies, game-changing technologies, and creative social media and marketing. But the most successful organizations, those built on fierce execution and nonstop innovation, work as distinctively as they compete. The first question great organizations can answer is: What separates us from our rivals in the marketplace? But the next question is: What holds us together as colleagues in the workplace? Read More >

Technology, People, and the Future of Competition

Big Data. Cloud Computing. AI. The digital revolution is reshaping the logic of business, work, and society. Companies use digital tools to reach more people in more places more quickly than ever. Social media and peer-to-peer communications reshape how brands communicate with customers and how colleagues collaborate with one another. Startups unveil new business models that shift the economics and overturn the logic of long-established industries. Read More >

Speech Descriptions

The Hard Work of Big Change

In this era of hyper-competition and non-stop disruption, past success does not guarantee future prosperity. It’s a world where the smart take from the strong and the most urgent work for every organization and leader is the work of making meaningful, deep-seated change. When customers have higher expectations than ever, and digital technologies and new business models create more choices than ever, then familiar ways of working and competing become less effective than ever. Read More >

Simply Brilliant Leadership: The Art of Going from Now to Next

As the world is being remade before our eyes, the leaders who make a difference are the ones who can reimagine what’s possible at their organization and in their field, and who can turn bold strategies into relentless execution. And they’re not just CEOs; they’re executives running business units, managers in charge of key departments, engineers or marketers running project teams, entrepreneurs building a company from scratch. Read More >

Talent, Culture, and the New World of Work

Business today is about distinctive competitive strategies, game-changing technologies, and creative social media and marketing. But the most successful organizations, those built on fierce execution and nonstop innovation, work as distinctively as they compete. The first question great organizations can answer is: What separates us from our rivals in the marketplace? But the next question is: What holds us together as colleagues in the workplace? Read More >

Technology, People, and the Future of Competition

Big Data. Cloud Computing. AI. The digital revolution is reshaping the logic of business, work, and society. Companies use digital tools to reach more people in more places more quickly than ever. Social media and peer-to-peer communications reshape how brands communicate with customers and how colleagues collaborate with one another. Startups unveil new business models that shift the economics and overturn the logic of long-established industries. Read More >

What People Say About Bill

divider_blue_purple

Additional Resources

Biography
Introduction
Past Speaking Client List
Testimonials
Hi-Resolution Photos